A DCR Reflection – 3 Years and Running

DCR New LogoRecently I asked some of the members of DCR to write a blog post as the group comes together this Saturday 10/19 for our 3 year anniversary. This blog was start about a year after our first anniversary and is meant for many others beyond the small town of Doylestown PA
 
The following is post from “The Goat” who many of you know. Thanks for reading, running, and praying with me on this journey.
 
God Bless,
Nick
 
“Not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” Hebrews 10:25

DCR LOGO NewPicture this…..between 5-25 people, young to not so young, fast to not as fast, standing in a circle, 7:30 Saturday morning, once a month, in front of a Starbucks, in the middle of a parking lot, holding hands to pray, ready to run, and month after month for three years.  Male or female, whether new to running or an ultra-marathon veteran.  That’s what happens in Doylestown every month.  Gathering, praying, and running on a Saturday morning but wait, that only tells part of the story.

Three years ago, a humble Christian runner wanted to share his passion for running and The Lord.  Initially he was not clear about what to do but he prayed, talked to many others, and researched forming a Running Group, considering Christian Running Group.  We are fortunate he did.  We are fortunate that Doylestown Christian Runners formed not only as a group that gathers monthly to run, but a group that cherishes his exceptional blog writing.  The good news is that his blogs have reached farther than the circle of the local group, the blogs have been read across the Globe.  All this started from a man with an intent to share his faith, his passion for running, and to help others understand how the two are intrinsically linked.

Over the past three years, I have come in the morning sometimes only to pray and leave; while other times I have run the 5k, 10k, and 15k.  I have run with my son and my dog.  I have been in the middle of a 100 mile race in Wyoming and felt the prayers across the country when it was dark and cold, when I needed it most.  I have run fast and slow but most importantly I have felt the support of my fellow DCR runners in my life.  I have been inspired by the blogs and supported by the group.  When I doubt, when I grow tired, when I struggle I am inspired by the group from our time on Saturday mornings.

I am grateful for each member, each step, each story we share, and for the courageous dedication of NF.

The Goat

The Goat

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Hebrews, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

