Why Ultrarunning is the Most Christian Sport

December 20th was my one-year anniversary of this blog and I should be writing my own new post following this milestone and to end 2012. However I am going to probably commit some type of “blogging Faux pas” and reblog a post I read which truly captures how ultra running and faith intersect more than any other sport (in my humble opinion). John provides another perspective on the amazing Ultra community and why so many of us are drawn to the challenge!

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas and wishing you a Blessed New Year,

Nick

Reblogged from Barefoot in Arizona Why Ultrarunning is the Most Christian Sport

“What did you go out into the desert to see? A reed shaken by the wind?” (Luke 7:24)
This is surprisingly close to what an aid station at an ultra looks like

This is surprisingly close to what an aid station at an ultra looks like

About a month ago Emily and I spent a weekend at the Javelina Jundred 100 mile ultra in Fountain Hills, AZ. We volunteered at an aid station from 3-11pm, hung out with some really great people until 2am, and then I paced a runner for her last 24 miles (we finished a little after 9am). I had run a couple of 50ks and was toying with the idea of running longer distances someday, so this weekend was meant to give me an idea of what a 100 mile race really looked like. What I saw made a huge impression on me, but not for the reasons I expected.
I expected feats of endurance and the human will among the runners, and I did see that. But what really made the biggest impression was seeing the non-runners–the volunteers, pacers, crew members, and friends and family–and the way they gathered around, supported, and loved the runners to the finish. I couldn’t help but be reminded of Jesus washing his disciples’ feet, of the Good Samaritan, or of the command to love our neighbor as ourselves. In fact, I had two phrases running through my head the whole weekend: “Christ-like love”, and “a servant’s heart.” Those two phrases sum up for me what is special about ultrarunning, and why I want to continue to be a part of it.
“Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.” (Philippians 2:3-4)

To read the rest of this blog, CLICK HERE

Thanks John for the great post!

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Challenging, Luke, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Ultrarunning is the Most Christian Sport

  1. Bill Altier says:

    Merry Christmas Nick!

  2. Bob Weinhold says:

    You are right on I enjoyed the iron sharpening iron in the last 26 miles. Rock on. Boom boom!

    Have a great day, Bob Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

