I Prayed That She Was Alive

Home from the hospital with the kids!

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God. Trust in Me also.” John 14:1

It was one year ago today that I received the most terrifying call of my life. It was around 7pm on October 3rd, 2011 and I was trying to get my kids upstairs after we had dinner. My wife Alison had gone for her evening run with her good friend Lori. My phone rang shortly after they left and I saw her cell number displayed on the caller ID. I casually answered it to find out what she had forgotten to tell me to do. Instead it was Lori crying hysterically to tell me that Alison had been hit by a car.

The events after that are like a montage of short movie clips that are blurred in many areas. The pieces I remember include me trying to calmly tell my 4 kids (ages 6-13) that I had to go get Mommy, banging on my neighbor’s door to tell them I needed them to watch my kids, and praying the entire way to the scene to find out what had happened and if she was alive.

As I approached the intersection where the accident had occurred, I was overwhelmed and tried to prepare myself for what I was about to witness. There were emergency vehicles all over the road, their lights shining everywhere, and police directing traffic around the scene.  It was her screams that told me she was alive and I was grateful to hear her voice. I found her on the ground with the EMS team getting ready to transport her to the hospital. All we knew for sure was that her ankle was broken with the bone visible through the skin.

Alison had been running with Lori as they always had during the week.  They both wore reflective vests and while they sometimes ran on the street (toward traffic), they were actually in a cross walk when the driver made a left hand turn into them. After the driver’s side mirror knocked Alison to the ground, its rear tire rolled over, twisted, and broke her ankle.

The outpouring of love and support from our church, running group, and so many friends was amazing. Assistance with car rides for 4 children, meals, and housekeeping are just some of those tangible gifts we received. However, I believe it is the love and compassion shown by everyone during this time which will serve as the most powerful lesson my children will take with them for their entire lives.

I have shared this story with others over the last 12 months to encourage them to help those in need get through difficult situations and help them experience God’s amazing love. However I wanted to share this today to encourage all of you reading this to PLEASE BE SAFE while you are out there training on the road or driving.  Too often I see runners on the road in the dark without reflective gear or lights, I see them running with traffic rather than against it, or those who run in the road with headphones.

I am just as amazed at how many people I know who run without ID. Whether you are a best friend or the coach of a high school runner, let me assure that you cannot answer all the questions a paramedic would throw at you and which could save their life… drug allergies? Blood type? and many others that can be accessed with something such as a ROAD ID tag.

I have included these tips and others in the LINK HERE that I hope you will not only use for yourself, but hope you would share these with others.

While Alison has not yet run again, the kids and I are so grateful she is alive. She is still recovering and we pray that she will be relieved of the pain and discomfort she often experiences by the end of each busy day after taking care of our family.

Let us all remember that each day is truly a blessing which we should thank the Lord for and continually ask for His strength and guidance to help us get through difficult situations.

God Bless,

Nick

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in John, Nervous and Trust, Prayer, Safety and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Prayed That She Was Alive

  1. elisariva says:

    Thank you so much for sharing – your story, your warnings, your faith. John 14:1 is my very favorite scripture and a reminder I needed today. Be blessed.

    • rxnickrun says:

      Thank you! I can only hope and pray that at least one person is reminded of or learns a safety tip that may keep them safe. The roads can be dangerous for all of us!

  2. What a beautiful message, one of hope and love. I’m so grateful for the message and I praise God for the wonderful outcome of your family’s experience – life and a deeper knowledge of God. Only God can bring beauty from ashes and hope from fear.

    I was praying today and a small part of a scripture dropped in my heart, “I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” (Isaiah 41:10) God is an awesome God. Your family’s victory is just one more proof of that fact. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Blessings,
    Rebecca

  3. Patty :) says:

    Wow!!! So sorry to hear that!! Thanks for the reminders. I don’t even think about carrying ID. I’ll check out your checklist. Praying your wife’s ankle heals up and she can run again. 🙂

    • rxnickrun says:

      Thanks Patty! There are some amazing testimonials on the Road ID website but given my first hand experience, I can’t stress the importance of having ID on you. Thanks again!

  4. cakeyizumi says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your faith and the verse I needed to hear!! Thank you so much for visited my blog and liking it. I amazed how fast you “like”d it and saw the verse on your page. I cannot stop thanking God for never leave us alone.. God bless you.

  5. Lurleen Worthington says:

    What a beautiful witness you and your family are to the faithfulness of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior. Whenever I see your family (especially talking with Alison last evening), I am reminded of your strength and character through difficult times. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings.

  6. Wow! This reminds me I need to dig out my Road ID bracelet. I’ve been lazy about wearing it lately, but I think this will change that. I use a reflective vest, but I’ve never used lights. Is there something you recommend? It’s about that time of year.

    • rxnickrun says:

      Michael, places like EMS, REI, or other outdoor stores have great selections but I use Petzl brand.Just be sure to have the ID on you! Thanks for comment and I enjoyed your recent post.

  7. Nick I’m so glad your wife is ok. Just read your post and I’ve been reminded that I MUST put my info into my phone and be more careful when I run in the dark.
    Blessings to you, your wife and your family. Praying for a super speedy recovery. And for a full recovery, that she might be able to run again.
    Bless you
    Nicki

    • rxnickrun says:

      Thanks Nicki. She is working on it but it might still be a while. We are so grateful it wasn’t more serious. Please do use the safety tips as it can be so dangerous with all the distractions on the roads nowadays. Nick

Leave a Reply

