A Change of Plans or an Excuse?

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11-13

The Chimera 100 Mile Mountain Race Course View

I recently decided to defer the marathon I was scheduled to run in a few weeks until next year. It was something I struggled with since I don’t have an injury that prevents me from running and I am not a professional where a poor performance could have a negative impact on my career (wouldn’t that be nice!). These are two reasons that are completely acceptable even if only one of them realistically applies to anyone reading this right now.

My rationale was that I had battled various injuries (Achilles Tendonitis and Shin Splints) during the first couple of months this year that didn’t allow me to hit the mileage that would properly prepare me for a marathon.

Could I have run or am I making an excuse?

I could have definitely run although I would have had to adjust my expectations. I was really unsure of what I should do until I e-mailed the race and found that they would allow me to defer until next year at no charge! I am not sure how many of us would avoid asking for a deferral in these situations out of disappointment or frustration but it has given me a whole new perspective on 2012.

Changing your plans = Praying

It isn’t just with running that I am hesitant to make changes. I like to finish what I start in any aspect of my life and it bothers me a great deal when I can’t have my way. I often believe I am in control and with the right plans, proper focus, and appropriate effort; I can get the job done. Unfortunately when I get into this mode, I tend to forget that I am not in charge and that I can’t do it alone…I need Him!

Regardless of the decision I need to make, I’ll often pray on what is the right path I should take. It’s when I truly let go and listen for the Lord that I have the best result. Back in the fall of 2010 I had a job offer for a lateral role and was the lead candidate for another job that was a promotion in the same company. It might seem like a “no brainer” given today’s job market. However the manager who extended the initial offer agreed to wait until the other director made their decision. After a great deal of prayer, I accepted the lateral move and within a few months, the other role I considered waiting for was eliminated!

It’s January 2012 all over again!

I couldn’t wait for 2013 to race and there is nothing like a fall marathon…. or Ultramarathon! About 2 weeks ago I signed up for the Wineglass Marathon in September and my first “Century”, The Chimera 100 Mile Mountain Race, in November. It is only March but I pray all of you are as excited as I am about what the year ahead has to offer.

Have you fallen off course with that goal or resolution? The season of Lent is a perfect time to reflect on where you are and ask the Lord for help on what to do next. Take advantage of the beautiful spring weather andlet us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.” (Hebrews 12:1-2)

God Bless,

Nick

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Challenging, Goals, Jeremiah, Nervous and Trust, Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Change of Plans or an Excuse?

  1. elisariva says:

    Thank you for the reminders. Friends of mine have run the Wineglass Marathon and love it. I believe you picked a good one.

  2. jthealthyfit says:

    Great post! We all need reminders every day not to trust oneself, but pray and put all trust in Him. And it’s so easy to fall into the selfish care because we get into a habit, we find comfortability in our own pleasures and interests. But we shouldn’t do things for ourself, but for Him and Him alone.

  3. Nick – so much wisdom here. Especially for type-A “get something done” types like us, sometimes the step back and prayerful patient waiting leads to a much better outcome. In fact I just had breakfast with someone this morngin who said, “I wish I had just waited for my situation at work to play itself out rather than jumping into another job…” It’s always a risk and gamble, but prayer and wise counsel sure helps.

    • rxnickrun says:

      Thanks Jim! It’s always much easier to write about in hindsight. The challenge is to make it a daily practice and not just when we’re in the foxhole.

  4. sudebaker says:

    Thanks for this. I recently had to make a similar decision in another area of my life. Good reminder! Keep running.

Leave a Reply

