The Temptation of Pride

He answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’” Luke 10:27

I have been traveling so much lately that it was only yesterday that I flipped my Runners Word calendar to March and read the monthly quote: “Believe in yourself, know yourself, deny yourself, and be humble.” I thought it was great and was ready to add it to my “list” of motivational quotes.

However I stopped after a moment of reflection and the red flag quickly went up to remind myself that it’s not about “me” or believing in myself. There is nothing wrong with feeling good about what we have accomplished. The problem is when it turns into pride.

I am not a theologian and still feel like an amateur at best in talking about this. I realize that while the first half of the quote from the calendar was self-centered, one could argue that the second half is beneficial as an athlete and Christian. Unfortunately the reality is that most who would read it might be quickly lose sight of what is important.

For someone who never did any physical activity my whole life, I was quick to embrace the title of “Runner” just as others define themselves as a “Triathlete” or “Ironman”. However, is that who we are or what we do? If that is how we define ourselves, what happens if those gifts are taken away?  When our focus is solely on ourselves and what we are accomplishing, we are missing so much more!

Another favorite CS Lewis Quote of mine is:

“Aim at heaven and you will get earth thrown in. Aim at earth and you get neither.”

It reminds me that if we truly “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’”, we will feel better, we will have greater confidence, and we can achieve all things through Him who strengthens us.

Fortunately for me running, rather than racing helps me to strengthen my faith. It is what helps me to focus, listen to my body, and most importantly, it helps me listen to my soul! Races on the other hand is my motivation to train harder, to set goals, and to get out of bed in the dark and cold of winter when many others are still snuggled in their warm beds.

Regardless of what you do for exercise, it’s never too late to incorporate a prayer at the start, during, and or after.

What is most important is that we live in a manner at work, during training, or after the race that best glorifies God in all we do.

God Bless,

Nick

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Luke, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Temptation of Pride

  1. Tara B. says:

    Reblogged this on The Big Girl to Slim Girl Chronicles and commented:
    I just HAD to reblog this post because it REALLY hit me hard in thinking about what is important in life and in running.

  2. cchristens says:

    Of all the thousands of words in the Old and New Testament; Jesus gives us answer to everything in one sentence, plus ‘Love thy neighbor as thyself.’ The rest of God’s word give us the “why” and “how”. Praise Him!

    Pride comes in many shades of gray, forms, and strength. However, we can stand firm when our sights are set on His Glory and not ours.

    Thank you for pointing us all in His direction.

  3. Great quote by CS Lewis, I had never seen that one before, but it speaks volumes, doesn’t it? Nick, you really hit on something here with the subtlety of what we focus on making a huge difference in how we approach life. I think heaven is a better starting point than earth.

Leave a Reply

