Help Me To Be More Aware

”Hear this, you foolish and senseless people, who have eyes but do not see, who have ears but do not hear” Jeremiah 5:21

God's Beauty

Some of you may have already read about the experiment the Washington Post conducted at a Metro station last month in DC. I was moved after reading the article and watching the clip on YouTube for so many reasons. The story essentially tells of how Joshua Bell, one of the world’s greatest classical musicians, playing one of the most expensive instruments (valued at over $3.5 Million), basically went unnoticed while playing some of the most incredible music ever written.

It’s sad that we are all so busy, so caught up in technology and our own lives that we barely notice one another, let alone the beauty of creation we encounter each day. The world is full of wonderful gifts that God provides. Unfortunately we often lack the discipline and patience to appreciate, enjoy, and be thankful for them. We fail to acknowledge that He lives in and around each of us as we go through life.

Running in Nature

As a runner, there are many things that I love and appreciate about nature as well as things which disappoint me about fellow runners. Sometimes it’s the lack of response when I say good morning or the number of runners who always wear headphones. I know some suggest they need the music to get them through that workout or race. While I can sometimes appreciate that if you are out on a long run by yourself, I still struggle with it when both ears are plugged up and the music is too loud to hear the world around them. I wish that more runners would try to listen to nature, for other people, and to their bodies to learn and experience more than if they are tuned out (not to mention for safety reasons as well).

Ironically it is sometimes when I run in conditions that others may try avoid, that I find myself most aware. Last Saturday was one of those times where the incredible beauty of our Lord consumed my senses. It was chilly and the fresh crisp snow lay on the paths and clung to the branches of the trees as I ran in the early morning. The quiet peace that covered the landscape here in Doylestown was deafening and the only sound I heard at times was the crunching of powder under my feet with each stride. It was truly an incredible morning and one that I can only hope, others who may be intimidated by the weather, may one day experience.

Being aware beyond beauty

So what would I have done if I was going to catch a train that morning referenced in the article? Unfortunately I would probably not have stopped. While this disappoints me, I’ll be sure to ask God to help me continue to stop and be more aware of His work wherever and whenever I may be each moment of each day. This includes not only appreciating beautiful sunsets, amazing music, or delicious flavors but also the wisdom and courage to help those in need or stand up for those who can’t for themselves.

Whether we are running on a trail or running off to work, it would do us all so much good if we looked up more, removed the ear plugs, put down the PDA , and thanked the Lord for each day we have to experience all that is around us.

God Bless,

Nick

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Jeremiah, Prayer, Safety, Scripture Verses and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Help Me To Be More Aware

  1. elisariva says:

    Watching the video my hunch was correct. He appears to be playing for money. So many people (myself included) walk right on by those we consider “begging”. What an eye opener. Thank you for sharing.

    • rxnickrun says:

      So many thoughts came to mind including the one you raised when I read it as well. I struggle with it myself as to when or how should we react and respond in those situations.

Leave a Reply

