Minimal Protection with Maximum Support

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” –Hebrews 11:1

I went camping with my 3 girls this weekend as part of the YMCA Indian Princess program that we have been involved with for several years. Despite temps in the low 40’s, my oldest wanted to climb the outdoor rock wall and I was a proud Dad when she reached the top and rang the bell. However it wasn’t necessarily easy and required lots of encouragement as she kept asking the instructor to tighten her safety rope. She yelled down that she didn’t feel it and was afraid it wouldn’t catch her if she fell.

With a big smile on her face, she told me again when she got down that even though she knew the safety rope was there to catch her if she slipped, she wanted to feel it pulling on her so that she knew it was there.

We All Want To Feel That Safety Rope!

Faith is a common discussion during many runs. While praying is always involved and praise for being able to be out there, one topic that has come up when we hear of a tragedy is the question, “how could God let that happen?” I don’t think I’m qualified to tackle this theological question but my good friend Bob recently shared with me that his pastor has talked about how our Lord offers “Minimal Protection with Maximum Support“.

This phrase popped into my head when my daughter told me about her desire to feel the safety cable holding her even though she could see it and knew it was there. As a father I wish I could always be there to keep my kids safe 24/7 but know that’s not realistic. I also want to believe that our own Father is always there to protect us from the evil of this world, but the reality is that things happen which we don’t have an answer for. However I do believe, especially as I look back at my own life, that He has always been there to support me even if I didn’t realize or acknowledge it.

Don’t miss the opportunity

My daughter and I didn’t spend long talking about this as we were having a great time and she didn’t need  a lecture. However, I did take the opportunity to tell her how, like that safety rope, faith is not about always feeling or seeing God’s presence, but having the confidence to know he is always with us.

Running is unique in that it is one of the few activities that allow us to reflect on our life and faith while we put one foot in front of another.  As you head out on your next run, think about how God has played a role in your life, maybe not on what has occurred, but maybe on how he has helped you deal with or get through it. Hebrews 11:1 is a simple but powerful reminder of what faith is truly all about!

God Bless,

Nick

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Hebrews, Nervous and Trust, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Minimal Protection with Maximum Support

  1. Il Caprone says:

    Nick,
    Amen. What a great post, I immeadiately read this to my two girls which lead to a wonderful discussion. I absolutely believe in “Minimal Protection but Maximum Support.”

    I am not smart enough to understand what all of those difficult things happen, but I personally know that i would not see the other side if I were not guided by His Presence.

    Thank you for your investment in explaining great life lessons to all of us.

  2. Jim wood says:

    Great message of faith, nick. It is easy to question, or just forget. He is faithful.

  3. Tara B. says:

    God bless you too! I am so thankful the Lord has been with me through all the tough times. I pray that He continues to guide you in your life, while on the course and off! 🙂

Leave a Reply

