Time and Food Management

Food for sale in the Viktualienmarkt, Munich, ...

“The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are healthy, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eyes are unhealthy, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness” –Matthew 6:22-23

We rarely think about what enters our bodies through our eyes and ears. Our focus is almost always on the food we eat. As part of training, people will try to make wise choices about what they eat even if they may indulge in a treat more often than they’ll admit. As a race day approaches, many will become much more disciplined in their food selection with the greatest scrutiny being given to that pre-race meal that occurs the day and hours before.

Hopefully the balance between foods we choose with nutritional value outweighs the unhealthy selections. The unfortunate reality is most people in this country are on the wrong side of this equation. I hope that the time and energy many of us invest to strengthen our bodies helps influence us to make better choices more often. Personally, running and physical activity helps me to make more wise decisions at meal times even if I am weak and often give in to my very large sweet tooth!

What is more concerning is the lack of balance with the “nutrition” that strengthens our mind and soul.

How do you find the time to exercise?

When people hear my training schedule they ask me where I find the time to run as much as I do. It comes down to priorities for me and tradeoffs. What I really limit is what I would consider the “junk food” that is found on television or other sources of entertainment. The array of reality TV shows from extreme couponing, cheapskates, and makeovers to thousand of useless internet or mobile sites is overwhelming and grows much faster than those of value. The challenge is, like food which we know is bad for us, we need to balance how much, if any, of this information we take in that lacks educational or spiritual value.

If we only thought about what we read, watch, and listen to in the same way we look at food, I believe we could all benefit greatly. I do enjoy watching an episode of Diners, Drive-ins and Dives or winning a game of Words with Friends. However, I don’t do these as often as I might be tempted since I spend the time when I’m not with my family and working with running or focusing on my faith.

I believe most of these things are common sense, even if it isn’t common practice. I realize it is harder for some, more than others, to make the right decision as often as we need. The goal for all of us should be to make sure we balance those things which help our bodies, minds, and souls with those things which waste them.

God Bless,

Nick

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Matthew, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

