2 Kinds of Runners

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight” -Proverbs 3:5-6

On Sunday I had to read several verses from Isaiah as part of a service at my church to celebrate Advent called “Lessons and Carols”.

I was surprised that as I headed to church, I found that I had butterflies in my stomach. Despite my experience in speaking to large groups, I was annoyed with myself for feeling this way since all I had to do was read. In addition, although I was reading from the Old Testament, I didn’t even have any challenging pronunciations!

This familiar visit from these winged insects really only occur before a race at this point in my life. It happens regardless of the distance and despite months of training, the anxiety always seems to present itself.

I know I am not alone in the stress that is encountered as we line up to run or when we speak. Mark Twain said “There are only two kinds of speakers in the world, the nervous or the liars.” He is probably right about us runners too.

If you listen to most professionals about the tips to “prevent” or reduce this feeling, it is similar regardless of the activity. They often include: Preparation is critical, deep breathing meditation is helpful, use visualization tips, know your audience or know the course, and many others that are useful but sound similar regardless.

Unfortunately most of these lack what I would say is the most important, to trust in the LORD with all your heart!  Whether I am speaking or running I always try remember how blessed I am to even be there and to do my best with the abilities God has given me. It may not always go as planned but with proper preparation, both physical and spiritual, I know that He is with me regardless of the outcome.

However, I assume some of those butterflies on Sunday had more to do with my love and respect of the Word and less about the fear of stumbling. That is definitely a good thing but if YOU have yet to join because your are concerned about how far 3.1miles is, how fast we will run, or how chilly it might be,  I hope you’ll consider coming out with us this week and use those butterflies to get you to Starbucks on Saturday!

God Bless,

Nick

Doylestown Christian Runners- FAITH, FITNESS, FRIENDS, and FUN!


About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in Nervous and Trust, Proverbs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2 Kinds of Runners

  1. Dallan says:

    Great verse of scripture Proverbs 3:5-6. I know what you mean by butterflies when speaking to large groups. Sometime those butterflies come and sometime I’m okay. But it is a good reminder to “Trust in the Lord with all your heart.”

Leave a Reply

