Hydration, Sunscreen, and Texting

““Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone”                 -John 8:7

WOW! It’s hot out there and I hope you are all being safe if you are running outside: Staying hydrated, wearing sunscreen, and preferably running in the early morning or in the evening.

There are many things we can do to be safe while running beyond those tips above. We need to wear reflective gear if it’s dark, run towards traffic, and not wear headphones if you are on the road. These are important since we are likely to see drivers texting, eating, shaving, reading, and many other activities that put the drivers and others on or near the road at risk.

Recently I had another close call with such a driver and I was glad I came away unscathed. However, later that day when Alison texted me on my way home, I realized I was no different than that driver when I began to respond. Since then, I have made a promise to myself not to respond to text or e-mails while my car is moving (Duh!). I am sure many of you are way ahead of me on this (thank you!) but in the event I am not alone, I would ask all of you to make a similar pledge.

Although I’ll still use my phone as a GPS device and use hands-free technology to answer a call, I will not be typing while driving. This will be for my safety, for others on the road, and finally to set an example for my kids who are learning from me and will be driving before I know it (now that scares me!).

It is often so easy for us to recognize when others are being careless or inconsiderate on the road or in life, yet we may not see when we do those things ourselves!

About rxnickrun

I am a Christian, Father of 4 wonderful children, Husband and Passionate Runner. I hope to help others experience that running can be a powerful approach to strengthen their Faith and improve their fitness.
This entry was posted in John, Safety and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

